Empire of the Moghal (Raiders From The North)

by Alex Ford

0 out of 5 based on 0 customer ratings
(0 customer reviews)


The first book in the Empire of the Moghul series: chronicling the rise and fall of the Moghul rulers of India, beginning with Babur who swept in from Central Asia to found one of the most powerful dynasties in history.1494, and the new ruler of Ferghana, twelve-year-old Babur, faces a seemingly impossible challenge. Babur is determined to equal his great ancestor, Tamburlaine, whose conquests stretched from Delhi to the Mediterranean, from wealthy Persia to the wild Volga. But he is dangerously young to inherit a crown and treasonous plots, tribal rivalries, rampaging armies and ruthlessly ambitious enemies will threaten his destiny, his kingdom, even his survival.

Headline Book Publishing; Latest Edition edition (7 January 2010)
Genre, Indian Writing

About The Author

Alex Rutherford is the pen name of two writers, Diana Preston and her husband Michael Preston. “Rutherford” is known for the six-book historical fiction series Empire of the Moghul.The Prestons studied at University of Oxford reading History and English respectively. Both are keen travellers and have visited more than 140 countries so far.Their greatest love is India. Their research into the building of the Taj Mahal led them to explore the early history of the dynasty which built the Taj – Mughal Empire. They have read all the chronicles of the mughal period in order to understand the history of the founders of the Mughal dynasty for their fiction work Empire of the Moghul. Over the years they have also retraced the steps of the Mughals from the Ferghana Valley in Kyrgyzstan – home to the first Moghul emperor, the boy-king Babur – to Iran and to the blue domes and minarets of Samarkand in Uzbekistan, across the red deserts to the Oxus River, over the Hindu Kush to Kabul and Afghanistan and down through the Khyber Pass to the plains of northern India.Empire of the Moghul series consists of six books which is about the reign of the epic rise and fall of one of the world’s most powerful, opulent and glamorous dynasties – Mughal Empire across two hundred turbulent years.They have done only serious non-fiction till Empire of the Moghul series and it was their first attempt at historical fiction. They decided to create a new persona to make a distinction between their earlier writing and this new series. The Rutherford came from the Nobel Laureate Ernest Rutherford, and Alex was chosen as a name that could be male or female.

Average Reader Rating

0 out of 5 based on 0 customer ratings

Reader Reviews


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Empire of the Moghal (Raiders From The North)”