Empire of The Moghal (The Serpants Tooth)

by Alex Ford

0 out of 5 based on 0 customer ratings
(0 customer reviews)


The new Moghul Emperor Shah Jahan reigns over a colossally wealthy empire of 100 million souls. Yet to gain his throne he has followed the savage ‘throne or coffin’ traditions of his ancestors – descendants of Genghis Khan and Tamburlaine. Ever since the Moghuls took India, brother has fought brother and sons their fathers for the prize and Shah Jahan has been no exception. As his reign dawns, now is the time for Shah Jahan to secure his throne by crushing his enemies. Instead, devastated by the death of his beautiful wife Mumtaz, he becomes obsessed with building an epic monument to their perfect love the Taj Mahal. His overwhelming grief isolates him from his sons and he does not see the rivalries, indeed hatreds, building between them. When he falls ill, civil war breaks out – ruthless, murderous and uncontrollable and the foundations of the empire itself begin to shake.

Headline Book Publishing (20 December 2013)
Genre, Indian Writing

About The Author

Alex Rutherford is the pen name of two writers, Diana Preston and her husband Michael Preston. “Rutherford” is known for the six-book historical fiction series Empire of the Moghul.The Prestons studied at University of Oxford reading History and English respectively. Both are keen travellers and have visited more than 140 countries so far.Their greatest love is India. Their research into the building of the Taj Mahal led them to explore the early history of the dynasty which built the Taj – Mughal Empire. They have read all the chronicles of the mughal period in order to understand the history of the founders of the Mughal dynasty for their fiction work Empire of the Moghul. Over the years they have also retraced the steps of the Mughals from the Ferghana Valley in Kyrgyzstan – home to the first Moghul emperor, the boy-king Babur – to Iran and to the blue domes and minarets of Samarkand in Uzbekistan, across the red deserts to the Oxus River, over the Hindu Kush to Kabul and Afghanistan and down through the Khyber Pass to the plains of northern India.Empire of the Moghul series consists of six books which is about the reign of the epic rise and fall of one of the world’s most powerful, opulent and glamorous dynasties – Mughal Empire across two hundred turbulent years.They have done only serious non-fiction till Empire of the Moghul series and it was their first attempt at historical fiction. They decided to create a new persona to make a distinction between their earlier writing and this new series. The Rutherford came from the Nobel Laureate Ernest Rutherford, and Alex was chosen as a name that could be male or female.

Average Reader Rating

0 out of 5 based on 0 customer ratings

Reader Reviews


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Empire of The Moghal (The Serpants Tooth)”