Empire of the Moghul(The Tainted Throne)

by Alex Ford

0 out of 5 based on 0 customer ratings
(0 customer reviews)


The brutal battle for power continues in the fourth book in the epic Empire of the Moghul series.Agra, India, 1606. Jahangir, the triumphant Moghul Emperor and ruler of most of the Indian subcontinent, is doomed. No amount of wealth and ruthlessness can protect him from his sons’ desire for power. The glorious Moghul throne is worth any amount of bloodshed and betrayal; once Jahangir raised troops against his own father; now he faces a bloody battle with Khurram, the ablest of his warring sons.Worse is to come. Just as the heirs of Timur the Great share intelligence, physical strength and utter ruthlessness, they also have a great weakness for wine and opium. Once Jahangir is tempted, his talented wife, Mehrunissa, is only too willing to take up the reins of empire. And with Khurram and his half-brothers each still determined to be their father’s heir, the savage battle for the Moghul throne will be more ferocious than even Timur could have imagined…

Headline Book Publishing (22 November 2012)
Genre, Indian Writing

About The Author

Alex Rutherford is the pen name of two writers, Diana Preston and her husband Michael Preston. “Rutherford” is known for the six-book historical fiction series Empire of the Moghul.The Prestons studied at University of Oxford reading History and English respectively. Both are keen travellers and have visited more than 140 countries so far.Their greatest love is India. Their research into the building of the Taj Mahal led them to explore the early history of the dynasty which built the Taj – Mughal Empire. They have read all the chronicles of the mughal period in order to understand the history of the founders of the Mughal dynasty for their fiction work Empire of the Moghul. Over the years they have also retraced the steps of the Mughals from the Ferghana Valley in Kyrgyzstan – home to the first Moghul emperor, the boy-king Babur – to Iran and to the blue domes and minarets of Samarkand in Uzbekistan, across the red deserts to the Oxus River, over the Hindu Kush to Kabul and Afghanistan and down through the Khyber Pass to the plains of northern India.Empire of the Moghul series consists of six books which is about the reign of the epic rise and fall of one of the world’s most powerful, opulent and glamorous dynasties – Mughal Empire across two hundred turbulent years.They have done only serious non-fiction till Empire of the Moghul series and it was their first attempt at historical fiction. They decided to create a new persona to make a distinction between their earlier writing and this new series. The Rutherford came from the Nobel Laureate Ernest Rutherford, and Alex was chosen as a name that could be male or female.

Average Reader Rating

0 out of 5 based on 0 customer ratings

Reader Reviews


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Empire of the Moghul(The Tainted Throne)”