by Amish

5.00 out of 5 based on 2 customer ratings
(2 customer reviews)

5.00 out of 5 based on 2 customer ratings
(2 customer reviews)


In What Modern Indians Mistakenly Call The Indus Valley Civilisation. The Inhabitants Of That Period Called It The Land Of Meluha A Near Perfect Empire Created Many Centuries Earlier By Lord Ram, One Of The Greatest Monarchs That Ever Lived. This Once Proud Empire And Its Suryavanshi Rulers Face Severe Perils As Its Primary River, The Revered Saraswati, Is Slowly Drying To Extinction. They Also Face Devastating Terrorist Attacks From The East, The Land Of The Chandravanshis. To Make Matters Worse, The Chandravanshis Appear To Have Allied With The Nagas, An Ostracised And Sinister Race Of Deformed Humans With Astonishing Martial Skills! The Only Hope For The Suryavanshis Is An Ancient Legend: When Evil Reaches Epic Proportions, When All Seems Lost, When It Appears That Your Enemies Have Triumphed, A Hero Will Emerge. Is The Rough-Hewn Tibetan Immigrant Shiva, Really That Hero? And Does He Want To Be That Hero At All? Drawn Suddenly To His Destiny, By Duty As Well As By Love, Will Shiva Lead The Suryavanshi Vengeance And Destroy Evil.

Genre, Indian Writing

About The Author

Amish Tripathi (born 18 October 1974), is an Indian author, known for his novels The Immortals of Meluha, The Secret of the Nagas and The Oath of the Vayuputras. The three books collectively comprise the Shiva Trilogy. His debut work The Immortals of Meluha was a bestseller, that broke into the top seller chart within a week of its launch owing to his creative marketing strategies. The Shiva Trilogy has become the fastest selling book series in the history of Indian publishing, with 2.5 million copies in print and over Rs 70 crore in sales. Forbes India has ranked him among the top 100 celebrities in India four times in a row, in 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015. Amish was also selected as an Eisenhower Fellow, an exclusive programme for outstanding leaders from around the world. The Immortals of Meluha, Tripathi’s first mashup novel and the first in the Shiva Trilogy, was published in February 2010. The second book in the series, The Secret of the Nagas, was released on 12 August 2011, and the third installment, titled The Oath of the Vayuputras, was released on 27 February 2013. The trilogy is a fantasy re-imagining of the Indian deity Shiva’s life and adventures.

The movie rights of The Immortals of Meluha were purchased by Dharma Productions in early 2012. Also The Immortals of Meluha and The Secret of the Nagas have been released in UK through Jo Fletcher Books (an imprint of Quercus Books) in January 2013 and November 2013 respectively.

His latest book, Scion of Ikshvaku was released on 22 June 2015. It is the first book in the Ram Chandra Series.It is a fantasy re-imagining of the Indian epic Ramayana. It follows the story of Ram and is a prequel to the shiva trilogy.

Average Reader Rating

5.00 out of 5 based on 2 customer ratings

Reader Reviews

2 reviews for Meluha

  1. 5 out of 5

    The author has used our Classical legends as the springboard of his story. The characters are not new, but the tales, told in the third person omniscient narrative, are totally a creation of esemplastic imagination. The legends like Shiva, Sati, Nandi, Birbhadra, Daksha – all roam around a certain topography as true human beings of flesh and blood. The objectivity of the author over the pivotal question of ‘Virtue/Vice’ also allows the readers to form their opinion independently. The divinity is seen from a benevolent perspective where ‘Karma’ or Achievements are the only yardstick for such lofty baptization. True to its pseudo-epic structure, tales are broken into episodes and readers will be glued to it once they start reading. The Unity of Time, Place and Action is observed meticulously though some reliable distractions have lent it a different layer to our ‘willing suspension of disbelief’.

  2. 5 out of 5


Add a review